2005-04-15 - 6:47 a.m.

I have been commanded by the lovely and talented E-Beth to slog through this invading meme.

You're stuck inside Fahrenheit 451. Which book do you want to be (referring to the scene at the end where people outside the city memorized the books so that they wouldn't be forgotten)?
Ok. Do you want the real answer? Or a funny answer? Well, the real answer is probably the Epistle to the Romans or the Gospel according to Matthew. A funnier answer would be something like the novelization of the movie BASEketball. So, take your pick.

Have you ever had a crush on a fictional character?
Oh, gosh, yes. Many times. I can't think of any off hand, but I know I have. I mean, it doesn't take much for me to fall in love with a fictional character who can never disappoint. I think the last one was the love interest from Walker Percy's The Moviegoer but I can't recall her name right now and am too lazy to look it up. "Cant remember her name? That's some crush!". Yeah, well, the easily crushed also fall out of crushes easy, I suppose.

The more important fact is the huge number of people who have had a crush on me, a fictional character. It's true. Not only am I a figment of someone's deranged imagination, but many, many women have a crush on me right now. And they all send me chocolate and cake. Or chocolate cake. Or cranberry juice.

The Last Book You Bought Was
Requiem for a Dream by Hubert Selby Jr.
I haven't started it yet. The movie was good and someone who's writing I really like really likes Selby. So there!

What book are you currently reading?
The bloody awful The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov

Five books you would take with you to a deserted island.

  1. Ship making for Dummies
  2. Navigation for Dummies
  3. Wilderness Survival for Dummies
  4. Campfire Cooking for Dummies
  5. Transcripts of every episode of Gilligan's Island

Whom are you going to pass this stick to?
Let's see...
chaosbean because I bet she's reading something much cooler than I am.
completeliar because he doesn't update enough and I'm sure he'd have some great answers of questionable veracity.
dooki just because

Reading
Wishing
Plotting

18 comments so far