2005-04-20 - 6:38 a.m.

So, I guess there is a new Pope. Enjoy the new Pope smell, while it lasts. Apparently this guy used to be head of the Inquisition. No, really. The office he held before JP2 started fading was once called the Inquisition.

Anyway, I wont hold that against him. I just think it's amusing.

One of the guys in my office is pissed because the new Pope is very conservative in that he wants to keep the Catholic Church from changing. Not being a Catholic the following opinion can be dismissed as ignorance, but I find it really odd and somewhat childish that American Catholics expect the church to cater to their views. The Catholic Church is close to two thousand years old and is a world-wide entity, why should it conform to 21st Century American mores? If anything, it should conform itself to African mores, since that is where the biggest growth is.

And, of course, an African Pope would have been cool. I think it would have really shook things up here in the US.

I'm also kind of disappointed by the length of the process. I was hoping the election would be a long, drawn-out affair with lots of snarky commentary and CNN/USAToday style graphics. Of course, there may have been all those things and my complete ignorance of TV could have simply kept me from seeing them. Was there a lot of snarky commentary and cheesy graphics?

If you can believe it, I'd say I watched two movies this weekend. Garden State and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Actually, they were the same movie. It was a remake of Breakfast at Tiffanys. It just called itself Garden State and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Plot - unhappy guy finds messed-up chick who is even worse off than himself, but at least she has low inhibition control. He uses her to get himself happy, she uses him to distract herself from the fact that in a few years her spastic nature will no longer be considered charming.

I guess I'm just sick of love stories. They are all the same. At least in Titanic one of them dies. Small comfort, but it's something, right? (Actually, I never saw Titanic but I'm sure it was as good as these two movies.)

Admittedly, Garden State was funny. It had that going for it, which is nice.

I updated my rental queue, too. Yeah, big weekend! So I'll be renting the "Comet Empire" series of Star Blazers. Maybe that will wash this romantic comedy nastiness out of my mouth. Oh, and I still have to watch Love, Liza. Maybe next weekend. Oh, wait. I'm going to be away next weekend. I guess it'll have to wait a couple weeks, then.

I'm going on an Alpha retreat. I plan to have a lot of fun. You guys can watch your snarky commentary on your television. Nyah-nyah-nyah!

I wrote this down the other day "Ever have one of those moments when you think - no normal human should laugh at the things I laugh at?" I wish I could remember to what it was referring.

Reading
Wishing
Plotting

16 comments so far