2004-07-27 - 11:27 a.m.

I love this entry! being from a Jewish background, I can tell you that there is nothing more delicious than a bunch of Jewish people standing around and laughing. If you haven't experienced it, I recommend you try it. Find a bunch of good-humoured Jews right now and try it.


In the same vein, I thought I would share a little about my recurring dreams. The one that comes to mind first is the one where I, as I am now (eg, 32 years old, almost finished my college degree, etc...) discover that somehow I never graduated High School and I never knew due to some clerical error. I end up having to go back and finish before anyone finds out: my parents, my college admissions office, etc...

Well, when I get there, the school is basically the same as I remember it, except for the fact that it has become cavernous. Especially the bathrooms. For some reason, each bathroom is the size of a medium-large apartment with about 30 urinals and stalls extending into the distance. With 30 urinals you'd think there would be no waiting, right? Wrong! Two thirds of the urinals and toilets are filled with some noxious goo. Apparently, each toilet was designed to be used once or twice at most, so each time you go to the john, it is an adventure to find a urinal that isn't goo filled or at least doesn't have too much goo. This combined with the fact that 90% of the classes I have to take are Phys. Ed. causes this dream to be very disturbing for me.

Other recurring dreams:

There are others, but I can't think of them right now. Maybe more later, k? Why not send me a note and let me know what your recurring dreams are? It'll make me really, really happy to hear from you!

By the way, I don't want anyone to think that I only have bad dreams. I have a ton of good ones, they just don't recur, darn them! Plus, I spend so much time day dreaming at work that I hardly need to have dreams at night anymore.


Here are a couple of links from one of my new favorite diaryland diaries. It is a music/sound diary, so don't bother to go if your computer doesn't have speakers or if you aren't allowed to make noise in your dank little cubicle. One of the few saving graces about where I work is that I am allowed to play music while I work in my dank little cubicle.

I got this one from a note that explodingboy left me in regards to this entry where I refer to my interest in horror movies. It is a cool clip and it makes a good point about how horror movies are reflecting the horrors that exist in our world, especially war. Very true, indeed! But I think there is something deeper than that. Where does war come from? Hate, greed and fear, right? Yes, but where do hate, greed and fear come from? Just something to ponder.

This other explodingboy link interests me for a number of reasons. First of all, I was reading about this very song over a bowl of cocoa pebbles the other day in the latest issue of The Believer. This is a stupendous magazine and my only problem is that I do not have time to read it cover to cover. Subscribe to this puppy right now, you wont regret it. And if you do, my previous statement was not any sort of implied warranty or guarantee.

Secondly, it interests me because I was in the process of (legally) downloading a Mountain Goats album from emusic when I got to this page.

Third, I think it is just an awesome song, but the last few lines with all the "Hail Satan" stuff makes me really uncomfortable. Maybe I'm oversensitive, but I think that there is a force of evil in the world which is behind all the hate, greed and fear we see around us. You could make the argument that hate, greed and fear are just part of human nature or (for those of you with an existential bent) the human condition, but then we would never expect to see courageous, altruistic, loving behavior, and we do see that. Or, at least I see it. Maybe my sheltered life has skewed my perceptions, but I see a lot of good in people. Any thoughts?

Now, what I like about the song is that these two kids really try to make their dreams come true despite everyone telling them that they will fail. They don't sell out like I did. Take me as a cautionary tale, kids, ok?


Speaking of selling out, a local rag, The Improper Bostonian is having a fiction contest. I'll be entering a story I wrote for a class I took. The teacher loved it and the students did, too. They all said it was better than what I usually write because I wasn't trying to be funny. Looking back over some of my recent entries, all I can say is "Criticism accepted". I sometimes try to force "the funny" and it doesn't like to be forced.

I would love to win this contest, so any prayers, visualizations, incantations, positive thinking that you can direct my way would be great. It is a great story and I'll post a copy soon.


Speaking of "the funny" or lack thereof, I don't think I'll be writing from the perspective of my alter ego for a while. I never intended this journal to become fictional, but it seemed like a fun goof, but it missed the original intent of this journal and the whole thing has become a little forced. Sure, he's a good guy and sometimes he is funny, but mostly he's just weird. I guess the apply doesn't fall too far from the tree.

Reading Huck Finn versus Godzilla
Wishing I win the fiction contest I'm entering
Plotting

0 comments so far