2004-10-19 - 2:27 p.m.

So I called in "sick" to work today. I'm not feeling super-well, but I was planning on taking a sick day anyway because I have a midterm tonight and I spent the whole weekend partying and drinking and accumulating kitties rather than studying.

Ok. There was only one kitty accumulated, but he is a mighty kitty. He does keep me up at night though. Every time I turn over or anything he thinks I want to cuddle or play or something. He'll start making that loud purring noise in my ear. It's almost as if he is purring. But I know he isn't because that would mean that he liked me.

So, the wedding. Let's start with the rehearsal. The rehearsal went well. I was suppose to give a reading from the Book of Tobit. Well, when we got to the point in the rehearsal where I was suppose to read, I searched my bag for the copy of the reading I brought with me. I couldn't find it for the life of me, so I just went up and said something like "nice large type" while pointing to the lectern bible. Feh. I got back to my seat and found my copy 10 seconds later. Feh times 2.

After the rehearsal we went to the rehearsal dinner. Free beer! I got in a conversation with this girl who was quite cute and didn't seem to recoil in disgust from me. But she has a boyfriend. Feh. But there was free beer and wine and so the evening could only be so bad.

Jena put me at the table with her and her fiance, so I at lease knew two people, but I barely know the groom, but still. It was something. We had a good time, though. Jena (the bride) has some kick ass friends. Very nice people. Can't complain. I wish I could but I can't. The gun pointed at my head prevents me. But seriously folks, take my wife, please! But seriously, they were fun, nice people who could hold their liquor.

So the wedding was Sunday. I got to the church early so I wandered around downtown Beverly for a while. The place is a dump with a capital D and a capital U. There was a comic book store and a Dunkin Donuts, so I'll spare them the capital M and capital P. I almost bought a ton of comics but I didn't want to carry them around Beverly and back to the church. So be it.

The service went well. I took communion for the first time in ages. I wasn't planning on doing that. It just happened. Not only was it odd for me to decide to do that, it was odd for me to do this in a church full of people I didn't know especially considering that I had no idea how Episcopalians "do" the whole communion thing. I am so adverse to doing anything that might remotely make me look silly in any way shape or form that this is totally out of character for me.

S. says I'm weird today. She can't tell me what I am doing that is any weirder than I am any day, but I'll take her word for it. If anyone has an idea or insight into me alleged "weirdness" let me know. I don't think I'm any weirder than usual except for the stress of a midterm I'm not prepared for, lack of sleep due to actually having fun this past weekend and my silly kitty keeping me up all night.

Not much else to report except that one of the great things about working where I work is that I can hear people have conversations that include terms like "dirty sanchez" and "donkey punch" and know that:

  1. I'm not the only person who knows what those terms mean
  2. I'm not the only person who might steer the conversation in a direction where uttering these terms is contextual


Reading I'm choosing between You Are Not a Stranger Here and Infernal City
Wishing I didn't have this stinking midterm
Plotting Let's not talk about plot just before a Lit exam, ok?
7 comments so far