2004-10-28 - 11:09 a.m.

I don't really know what to think about yesterday. It was a weird day, that's for sure. I was wicked depressed most of the day and I think it is because I get too wrapped up in things, especially when they relate to my writing. I write a lot and I can't expect everything to be good. I've written maybe two good stories over the past six months and three or four which are okay and maybe four or so which are tolerable and then a whole bunch of crap. But I keep expecting to feel that "high" again when I know I am writing something that is good. The magic isn't always there I suppose.

I'm starting to think about the residency to which I will be applying. The residence lasts about seven months and I am both excited and scared at the possibility of having seven months to focus on my writing. On the one hand, it would be like a dream come true. Nothing to do but write; no job to worry about. On the other hand I have this fear that with seven months of free time I will lose all of the urgency I have about my writing now. Well, I guess this is a hurdle I will just have to jump when it comes. I mean, I'm not sure if I even have a good chance of getting this residency. I should worry about these things if and when I get the residency.

However, I cheered up a lot after lunch with my buddy Jen and after writing this. It's a little odd and not the kind of thing I normally write, but it was fun. Oh, and I bugged Rhi~ over IM. It's fun to be stalking someone.

What else... nothing really happened since yesterday, except









THE RED SOX WON THE WORLD SERIES IN FOUR GAMES!

So we had a meeting this morning of the tech staff. We're waiting on a replacement NAS from one of our vendors. The CTO checked the tracking number and it turns out that it is at a sorting facility. I asked if it was a bubble sorting facility. Everyone laughed so I did my best Vulcan salute and said "Live long and prosper." Being a geek can be fun.

And our network admin's wife calls the NAS which shit the bed The NAZGUL, which we all thought was cute.

Ok. I promise no more geek humor for a few days.



I lied

Khaaaaaaaaaaaaan!





Oh, and for those of you who are interested, if I were to sort all the lines from the above entry, it would look like this:
"Live long and prosper." Being a geek can be fun.
a hurdle I will just have to jump when it comes. I mean, I'm not sure if I even
about. On the other hand I have this fear that with seven months of free time I
and it turns out that it is at a sorting facility. I asked if it was a bubble
And our network admin's wife calls the NAS which shit the bed The NAZGUL, which
expecting to feel that "high" again when I know I am writing something that is
for sure. I was wicked depressed most of the day and I think it is because I
fun. Oh, and I bugged Rhi~ over IM. It's fun to be stalking someone.
get too wrapped up in things, especially when they relate to my writing. I
good stories over the past six months and three or four which are okay and
good. The magic isn't always there I suppose.
have a good chance of getting this residency. I should worry about these things
However, I cheered up a lot after lunch with my buddy Jen and after writing
I don't really know what to think about yesterday. It was a weird day, that's
I lied
I'm starting to think about the residency to which I will be applying. The
if and when I get the residency.
Khaaaaaaaaaaaaan!
maybe four or so which are tolerable and then a whole bunch of crap. But I keep
Ok. I promise no more geek humor for a few days.
possibility of having seven months to focus on my writing. On the one hand, it
replacement NAS from one of our vendors. The CTO checked the tracking number
residence lasts about seven months and I am both excited and scared at the
So we had a meeting this morning of the tech staff. We're waiting on a
sorting facility. Everyone laughed so I did my best Vulcan salute and said
THE RED SOX WON THE WORLD SERIES IN FOUR GAMES!
this. It's a little odd and not the kind of thing I normally write, but it was
we all thought was cute.
What else... nothing really happened since yesterday, except
will lose all of the urgency I have about my writing now. Well, I guess this is
would be like a dream come true. Nothing to do but write; no job to worry
write a lot and I can't expect everything to be good. I've written maybe two


Reading The Great Gatsby. I'm only a few pages into it, but the writing is really good
Wishing and praying that I get the residency. You should all be doing the same thing...
Plotting how to intercept Rhi's mail

8 comments so far