2005-05-31 - 8:34 a.m.

I'm going to be tweaking my schedule over the next week or so, so updates may be intermittent for a while. Sorry!

Ok. I want to apologize for the angry tone of my last entry. You guys don't pay to hear me grouse about my life. In fact, you don't pay me at all! You should be ashamed!

I was wearing my Saddest Wookiee[sic] T-shirt on Saturday when I went into a Starbucks (sorry!) to get a coffee. The barrista mentioned that she liked my shirt and said "That looks like a Chewbacca!" to which i said, "Yes, it is Chewbacca" to which she (being the igrnoarantist barrista) replied "I only found out what a Chewbacca was last week." Huh? Sleep under a rock much? What's with kids these days, anyway?

Got Grand Moff Kitty groomed this weekend. Not nearly the fiasco as last weekend's attempt. The kitty got through it without pooping or peeing on anything or anyone. The groomer was great, too. She clipped his nails so fast I didn't even see it happen. And boy, did she brush that cat! Ears all clean, too. And she offered me some great advice. Apparently, I can stop giving the kitty ammo twelve hours or so before I need to put him in his carrier and he wont accidentally set off his death star weaponry. Hmm... So next time, I'll withhold food and water the night before we go a roving, Smitey. However, in my excitement over how well things went, I forgot to tip the groomer. It didn't even occur to me that one tips groomers. Does one tip a pet groomer?

I've been having trouble calling Heather lately. She is so depressed and when I talk to her it's like watching her disintegrate before my eyes. I want to help her but she is adamant about not being helped. Why are depressed people so attached to being unhappy? And I say this as someone who has survived depression. When I was depressed, I was attached to unhappiness, too. I still don't understand it.

Proof that God exists - my love for my local church. I've never loved an organization before. And this particular organization has done very little to earn my love. I've been ignored, marginalized, disliked, you name it. And yet I love these people more than I am irritated by them. Why?

I went to a different church Sunday morning, and they were installing new members and I was practically brought to tears thinking about my own infidelity to the vows I took at Park Street Church. Ok, God, I get it. I should stick with PSC.

In 1971 (the year you were born)
Richard Nixon is president of the US

Charles Manson and 3 of his followers are convicted of multiple counts of first-degree murder

An earthquake in California's San Fernando Valley kills 64 people

New York Times begins publication of classified Pentagon papers on US involvement in Vietnam

The $70 million Kennedy Center opens in Washington, DC

A four day revolt at New York's Attica state prison ends after being stormed by 1000 state troopers

A new stock-market index called the Nasdaq debuts

Walt Disney World opens

Intel releases world's first microprocessor, the 4004

Ray Tomlinson sends the first e-mail

Libertarian party established in USA

Kid Rock, Denise Richards, Sean Astin, Winona Ryder, and Ricky Martin are born

Pittsburgh Pirates win the World Series

Baltimore Colts win Superbowl V

Montreal Canadiens win the Stanley Cup

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath is published

The Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour premieres on television

"Bridge Over Troubled Water" by Simon & Garfunkel wins Grammy for song of the year

All in the Family premieres

What Happened the Year You Were Born?
More cool things for your blog at Blogthings


Reading
Wishing
Plotting
5 comments so far